Posted in Bloggage, Childhood Memories, Life, Music

David Bowie, RIP

This is another post that isn’t going to make me smile.

This morning the alarm went off – I looked up the weather on my phone and then decided to have a sneaky look at Facebook.  The first post was by the Radio Times with a picture of David Bowie.  The internet has been full of David Bowie the whole weekend – it was his 69th birthday and he had released a new album.  Hang on!  this isn’t about his album – it says he’s dead!  This has to be a hoax – surely- no it’s the Radio Times it must be true – how can it be true?

Pádraig!!!  Quick! David Bowie!!  (the rule in our house is we can wake each other if somebody dies)  what?  DAVID BOWIE – quick turn on the telly.

The telly wouldn’t work so we ran to the living room.

Himself watched it a bit and then headed back to bed saying he still can’t take it in.

I’ve sat on the sofa weeping every once in a while – I don’t know if it’s for me, for him, for his family, for the music, for my youth?

My youth has him linked to Kenny Everett – it’s a strange world.

I know it’s a real, but the body of work makes it a lie.

The Brilliant Bowie – gone but not really.

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married to himself and have 3 cats - Pip, Oscar & Daisy. I give out about all four. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

