Posted in Bloggage, Books, Celebration, Childhood Memories, Life, Links, Reading

Not My Father’s Son

This is the autobiography of Alan Cumming.  It was read by himself on BBC radio 4 recently as the book at bedtime.  For me it was a little bit past my bedtime so I got the audiobook from the library.

Can I just say WOW!

I remember watching his episode of “Who Do You Think You Are?” and thinking that’s tragic but isn’t it lovely that his grandfather was held in such high esteem…
Nobody would have guessed the turmoil he was going through while the filming of that episode.  That episode is used as the framework for the book – for him to tell us who he is – where he came from.  On twitter I said it swung from harrowing to happy – reading it, it interchanges between the Then of childhood to the Now of filming the programme.

Speaking of remembering seeing Alan on television – I saw him on The Late Late Show (RTÉ) talking about his relationship with his dad and I don’t think it’s too much of a spoiler to say it wasn’t a happy go lucky childhood.  However listening to his lilting accent, his voice somehow protects us from his words.  You really are routing for the “Then” & “Now” Alan to come through, despite the fact that you kind of know that he has, you are so wrapped up in the story.

This story is very redemptive – by the end of it I would have loved to say to Mary Darling (his Mam) – you did a great job!  to Grant – please keep looking after him, he’s mad about you.  To Alan, Thank You!  Thank you for The HighLife, the photos, and your honesty.

If you don’t read (auto)biographies then listen to this one!

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married to himself and have 3 cats - Pip, Oscar & Daisy. I give out about all four. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

