Posted in Bloggage, Books, Friends, Reading

The Organised Criminal

Last week we were at a book launch – it was a friend of ours that was having the launch.

A book by a friend is always a dodgy thing.  It could be great but it might not.

Well today I finished The Organised Criminal.

Generally I’m not a great one for florid writing but in this time I lapped it up.  In this instance the sentences were short and sharp, maintaining a steady pace.

The voice of the book is that of Jay O’Reilly who is also the main protagonist.

On the opening page we find out that he’s heading home for a family funeral, home being Crossmaglen, Northern Ireland.  He’s not overly happy about being back – no that’s not right – he’s not comfortable being back but it’s good to see some old friendly faces.

I don’t want to say anything else about the story as that would give the story away.  A good sign for me is that as I come to the end I just don’t want to put it down – I have to find out how does it all work out and in this particular instance I couldn’t put it down.  Now all I want to is to read more by Jarlath.

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married to himself and have 3 cats - Pip, Oscar & Daisy. I give out about all four. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

One thought on “The Organised Criminal

Leave a Reply

