Posted in Bloggage, Books, Life, Reading

A Scream In Soho

I did it!

I bought a copy of A Scream In Soho from the British Library during the summer last year and started to read it shortly after Christmas but found it very slow going.

It took me a while to get used to the style of writing.  Words are spelled out using accent phonetics – if there is such a thing – you knew if you had a Cockney, Italian, Irish or upper class British character.  The other thing I found was that for the first 50 pages or so it was mainly scene setting and hypothesising and theories – it felt a bit turgid – like wading through tar.  On the other hand, once the first corpse is located, it takes off at a gallop.  It took me 3wk to read the first few pages and the other 200 pages took 3 days.

I must add that I was under a cloud for the first while got a confidence shot last week, which might also have boosted my reading concentration…

A Scream In Soho by John G Brandon

(Click on Image to be taken to the British Library Shop – better still go to the actual shop it’s heavenly)

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married and have 2 cats - Oscar & Daisy. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

