Posted in Books, Childhood Memories

Library Joys

I know I’ve mentioned this before but I absolutely love going to the library – so much so that I’m a member in two different council areas (for locals it’s Dublin City Council & Fingal Council) It really is a great resource – I have one on my doorstep in work – all expressions aside it really is on the other side of the street from the office! – How cool is that!!! The only negative thing I can think of about it is it’s a bit dark but that’s only compared to the other two that I would frequent – Blanchardstown & Malahide. The Malahide one is that one I’d be pass by every week when I go to WW so last night we were a bit early so in we went! I Love Love Love it! and came out with two books (Rebecca Shaw) & two DVDs – A Very Long Engagement (himself loves Audrey Tautau & I missed the last 15mins of the film) and the other was a boxset of The Young Ones. Now that is what I consider a haul of opposites – gentle books about a village idyl, a french film & I’m not really sure what you could say to describe The Young Ones briefly – comedy?
I’m in seventh heaven when it comes to Libraries – you can go in pick out a book you want to read but don’t particularly want to buy or a book you’re not too sure about and give it a go – if you don’t have space for the books well that’s OK they have to be returned so no need to break out the Ikea catalogue to get more Billy bookcases. The same goes for DVDs, audiobooks, computer games and even magazines! Basically this stuff is all free so long as you give it back when you’re finished with it!
It’s funny – I remember when I was little going on the bus over to Malahide to the library – I would go upstairs to the childrens section and it was such a big day when I got my new ticket which allowed me to take things out of the adults library – the joy of that was that you could take out even more books if you were taking them from the childrens library đŸ™‚ On one or two occassions (possibly a lot more) we went over to the one in Donaghmede SC but my overriding memory of that one was round – I don’t know why maybe there was seating arranged in a circle or something but anyway round it is!
So my next question is – what am I doing on here? I should put the kettle on and settle into the book I got the other day – Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand – it really is lovely đŸ™‚
Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married to himself and have 3 cats - Pip, Oscar & Daisy. I give out about all four. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

One thought on “Library Joys

Leave a Reply

