Posted in general

Mornings

It’s at this time of the year you really can see the seasons change – for the most part over the year they simply slide into one another but not at the moment – it’s almost like one day you are coming home in broad daylight and the next day the sun is setting – a week later and it’s dark. I have to admit I love it – the lengthening and shortening of the days. I was talking to a friend recently and who is originally from Zimbabwe and she was telling me that when they were being taught in school about the shorter days in winter and longer in summer it meant nothing to them – it made no sense as their days stayed the same more or less all year – it was only when she came here that she realised what the teachers were on about.
This morning I woke up and it was pitch dark – no more morning walks (even though there weren’t too many in the first place – well not this year) – and it was the first morning that I was actually aware of the darkness. As I type the sky is brightening, some of the clouds are pink and there are trails from the planes. Soon this won’t be happening for at least another hour and then winter will have set in – going to and returning from work in darkness.
Speaking of work – must dash!

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married to himself and have 3 cats - Pip, Oscar & Daisy. I give out about all four. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

