Posted in Childhood Memories, Cooking, Food, ikea

Brand New (Rolling) Pin

This morning I was reading an article by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall about cooking with children. Please put that old joke down! I know we all like children just couldn’t eat a whole one! Anyway now that that’s out of the way – cooking with the aid of children – when I was little or younger (which ever term you prefer) Nan-nan (my grandmother) was always baking apple tarts. There was nothing I loved more than getting the remaining core of the cooking apples and dipping them in sugar to make them yummy and slightly crunchy. One year I insisted on getting a rolling pin – I don’t know if it was for a birthday or christmas present – because I tend to have cold hands a lot of the time it means I’m a dab hand at pastry. So to have my very own rolling pin was just wonderful! When I moved out of baking and home the rolling pin magically disappeared. I was living in a flat but I still wanted a rolling pin – it could come in handy!!! but I couldn’t find one that was just like the one I had – still handles and a rolling middle/barrel – no the one I got was an all in one 😦 Don’t get me wrong it worked it rolled out my shortbread biscuits to a treat but it just wasn’t the same. Anyway yesterday we went to Ikea and as we were walking around down stairs there was a random rolling pin lying about in the pictures section – I don’t know where it came from originally but I just had to have it.
So now I have my rolling pin and Hugh is cooking with children there is something that is telling cook an apple tart – all I need now is a tart dish and I shall be away in a hack.
Sorry but now that I mention the plate – I’ve just remembered the thrill of shaving off the excess pastry from the edges – I loved doing that. Ok my mission is now to get that plate and put it all to good use – I’ll post pictures if it doesn’t get eaten before I find the camera.

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married to himself and have 3 cats - Pip, Oscar & Daisy. I give out about all four. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

