Posted in Books

Books, Books, Books!

I am trying to decide on my up and coming reading.  I am in the middle of an Ian Rankin phase and would like to continue with that.  However, I see that Little Dorrit is going to be on the telly soon and the other day I was in Chapters having a look at the back of it thinking – that looks good.  So the plan might be to record the adaptation on the telly and read the book – or should I watch it and then read it?  Not too sure which order to do it in – a faithful retelling of the story would of course generally spoil the storyline if I wanted to read it.  On the other hand artistic licence might mean that what is on the telly has little to do with what is printed on the page – oh decisions, decisions!

Another thing that has to be considered at this time of year is that it is this time of year.  One more festival to pass by and then we can safely say ’tis the Season.  I have 2 books I like to read – Alice Taylor  The Night Before Christmas and some other book (it has no cover) I think it’s called Dear Santa – it’s a romance book.  So the draw back to all of this is that I’m a slow reader – Little Dorrit could take me ’til Summer at my rate and as I’m not really a two at a time anymore that would knock any festive reading out the window – and believe me I have alot of festive reading = an entire shelf of short stories and interesting facty type books.

Ok I’ve come to a semi/demi decision: Finish the Rebus book I’m in the middle of at work and on the bus etc.  In bed read facty type books.  See if I can get Dickens with a decent font and see how it goes – it might turn out I can’t read it anyway (I get like that sometimes) and can pick it up at a later date.  If I am going to read it there is a chance that it will be too big for handbag and therefore relegate it to weekend reading.

It’s not totally satisfactory but it is a way ahead so we shall see what today brings.

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married to himself and have 3 cats - Pip, Oscar & Daisy. I give out about all four. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

