Posted in general, Life

Death

I will be 33 soon, this morning I have to go to the funeral of somebody who had only just turned 31. When I heard the news I couldn’t believe it – my flabber was completely gasted. The news of the death of somebody you know will always draw you nearer to those you love – almost physically. The first thing you want to do is grab hold of that person just so you can confirm that they are here and real and in turn while they hold you and confirm your presence to them you also confirm it to yourself. Does that make sense? All of a sudden the days are brighter and your troubles are only a slight nuisance – it tends to swing your sense of proportion – normally it’s the doom and gloom of everyday life but hey you have life so therefore everything really is fantastic. While this is unrealistic if we could just carry forward a snippet of that new found optimism it could change our whole outlook on life.

Unfortunately before any of that can take place a funeral must be attended and a friendship must be remembered. Of all the deaths recently (since about 2001) none of the bodies have been like the person we knew so I think that the viewing of the body is no longer an option for me – I like my memories of people to be of them laughing and living and not of them dying and dead.

Sorry it’s a little bit down but I’m off for a cuddle from himself as it’s going to be one of those days and like breakfast you should always start the day with one (both breakfast & cuddle)

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married to himself and have 3 cats - Pip, Oscar & Daisy. I give out about all four. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

